About the school
Westside Community Preschool is a Colorado State licensed preschool. We are currently accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) and hold a Level 4 rating from the COS SHINES Quality Improvement Rating system. The learning program is designed to nurture children’s cognitive, social, physical and social-emotional skills with a curriculum that capitalizes on their natural curiosity. Experienced, caring teachers create a safe learning space, promoting development through planned investigations and play-based activities. Our teacher-student ratio is 1:8.
Because preschool is perhaps the first time your child will be separated from you and familiar surroundings, we will help him or her develop appropriate ways of relating to new friends and other adults, to share, and to develop self control and responsibility in a safe, warm, loving environment.
We strive to maintain open communication between home and school, and parents are invited to visit the school at any time.
We are able to personalize the environment and teaching methods to meet the specific needs of each child. Teaching includes a variety of approaches to help support growth in all developmental and content areas.
Because children are naturally creative, we offer ample opportunities to expand their creativity through play, art and music. Playful learning also focuses on language development, number concepts and reading readiness.
Fine motor skills and eye-hand coordination are developed through finger plays, puzzles, manipulative toys and art activities. Sensory discrimination experiences are provided by comparing and contrasting colors, shapes and sizes. Large muscles are developed through activities such as running, skipping, jumping and creative movement.
Teachers use assessments and classroom observations to help create an individual learning plan for your child. Visit the Curriculum page to learn about the learning materials used at Westside.
Preschool and Tuition Fees for 2018-19 School Year
For further information, contact Laura France at 719-660-1578 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Age requirement: Your child must be at least 3 years old on or before October 1st, 2018.
Toilet training is required.
Classes run from 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Registration fee: A non-refundable fee of $75 is due at the time of registration.
Cost for 2018-19 school year:
Tuition is $350 per child per month. We offer an Income Based tuition assistance program for families who qualify. Download form at right.
On the right you will find a map to the school, the required registration forms, and the school-year calendar. Download, print and complete the registration and medical forms (at right). Please provide a current copy of each child’s current Immunization record and statement of health, signed and dated by a health care professional within the last 12 months, by the first day of school.
Waiting list: As classes become full, we maintain wait lists and register students as space becomes available. There is no fee to be on a waiting list.
Closures and Delays
We follow Colorado Springs District 11 for closures and delays.
If D-11 is delayed or closed we will not have 1/2 day preschool (9:00 -12:30)
If D-11 is delayed, our Child Care program will be delayed and will open at 8:30 am.
If D-11 is closed then our Child Care program will be delayed by 2 hours and open at 9:30 am.
PLEASE click on the snowman below to find out about delays or closures.